Stoneham Public Library

Databases

Electronic Resources

The Stoneham Public Library offers its patrons a number of reference databases to assist them in their research need, includig online biographies, magazines, and newspapers. Funding for these databases is provided by the North of Boston Library Exchange (NOBLE) and the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners (MBLC) to member libraries

All of these databases can be accessed through computers at the Stoneham Public Library. Many of these databases are accessible from home. To connect from a computer outside the library, you will need a Stoneham library card.


ABC-Clio American History Database

Over 15,000 reference entries, a comprehensive range of primary and secondary sources, tools for teachers and librarians, and a link to an ABC-CLIO Schools editor who guides students in finding answers to their social studies questions.

EBSCOhost

Includes MasterFILE Premier, Middle Search Plus, Newspaper Source, Business Source Premier, Regional Business News, ERIC, Professional Development Collection, MEDLINE, Health Source - Consumer Edition, Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition, and Clinical Pharmacology

Online Newspapers, Magazines & Enyclopedias

Search for biographies, literary criticisms, medical journals, newspaper articles and more.

Learning Express Library

Comprehensive courses in math, reading, and writing; essay writing practice with instant scoring; resume writing and workplace skills enrichment; and more than 300 online practice tests for students and adults of all ages. All practice tests include instant score reports that help you target those skill areas that need the most attention. Complete answer explanations accompany each test question so that you understand why a particular answer is right or wrong.

Novelist Fiction Guide

Search over 135,000 fiction titles by subject, read reviews, and access book discussion guides.

Internet Links By Subject

Easy access to some commonly asked about topics such as genealogy, health information, and local areas of interest.



Contact a Reference Librarian

Call a Librarian:

Maureen Saltzman, Reference Librarian at (781) 438-1324

Email a Librarian:

Send us questions by email and receive a response within 48 hours.

Connect to a Librarian:

Try MassAnswers , a 24/7 online reference service.